Mission & History

Mission Statement

To support, enable and empower strategic partnerships within the Franco-Irish business community in Ireland.


FICC is a private, non-profit membership organisation without political or religious nature, which gathers French companies, non-French companies wishing to develop their relations with France, and business people representative of French economic interests in Ireland.

FICC Objectives

• To contribute to the development of economic, industrial and trade relations between France and Ireland, including bringing together business communities

• To promote the development of French companies’ activities in Ireland and Irish business to France by all means and in all areas

• To encourage the exchange of information and ideas among FICC members by organising events and disseminating any relevant publications

• To promote the image of France in Ireland and vice versa

• To spread the views of FICC on relevant economic issues, representing the general interests of member businesses and professionals to public authorities, government and other organisations in Ireland and in France.


The France Ireland Chamber of Commerce has its origins in the Ireland France Economic Association which was established in 1978. It was established as, and remains a limited liability company with Memorandum and Articles of Association and is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the general membership. After 11 successful years as an Economic Association, it gained its current Chamber of Commerce status. 

The founder members of the Economic Association were: 

  • Michel Dupont - Mission Economique, French Embassy in Ireland 
  • Jean Monguillon - BNP (Ireland) Ltd 
  • John D Hamill - LJ Warnant and Co. Ltd. 
  • David J Strahan - Marketing Advisor 
  • David Philips - Denis Coakley Ltd 
  • Brian Callanan - Confederation of Irish Industry (CII) 
  • John Fortune - Economist

His/Her Excellency the French Ambassador has been the Patron of the Ireland France Economic Association and the subsequent Chamber since its inception. The Chamber has been fortunate to hold many events in the lovely surroundings of the Ambassador’s Residence on Ailesbury Road.

Past FICC Presidents

  • Margot Slattery, Sodexo (2020-2022)
  • Mathieu Gorge, VigiTrust (2018-2019)
  • Joanne Grant, JCDecaux (2016-2017)
  • Jim Rice, Schneider Electric (2014-2015)
  • Gerry Halpenny, LK Shields (2012-2013)
  • Paul Owens, BNP Paribas (2011) 
  • Niall Gleeson, Alstom Ireland Ltd (2010) 
  • Pat Gilroy, Dalkia (2009) 
  • Philippe Cosson, AP Partners (2006-2008) 
  • John King, Ivor Fitzpatrick and Company Solicitors (2003-2006) 
  • Jacques Henry-Bezy, Bespoke & Beyond (1999-2003) 
  • Frank Mee, Allianz Worldwide Care (1997-1999)
  • Garrett P. Gill (1995-1997) 
  • John D. Hamill, MME Engineering (1993-1995) 
  • Bernard V. Rogan (1990-1993) 
  • Henry C. Tierney (1986-1990) 
  • Hugh McCann (1982-1986) 
  • John H. Donovan (1978-1982)
Share this page Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on Linkedin